Social Movement Technologies
Annual Briefing For Social Justice Funders and Campaigners: February 8, 2024

Blocking entrances to a Boeing plant in Missouri, U.S., demanding they stop sending bombs to Israel. Banner lists children killed in Gaza (Nov 2023, The Dissenters)

The session will be held in English, with interpretation in French for the Africa, Asia, Europe session. Live A.I. captioning available in 39 languages.

Join us for a 30-minute overview of upcoming trainings including the Digital Campaigning Certificate Program and the BIPOC Campaign Leadership Fellowship, both of which start in spring 2024. We’ll also cover the Africa Movement Building Support Program as well as campaign coaching support for groups and coalitions.

The following half hour is for funders only, where we’ll discuss ways that SMT collaborates with a range of funders to support grantee partners and build movement strength.

So if you’re an NGO staffer, come for 30 min to hear about upcoming opportunities. If you’re a funder, stay another 30 min to also discuss grantee support. 

  • Session 1 for Africa, Asia, Europe, Feb 8 (11am Brussels | 12pm Gaza | 1pm Nairobi | 3:30pm Mumbai | 6pm Manila/Perth). Find your timezone here.
  • Session 2 for Americas, Feb 8 (9am Los Angeles | 12pm NYC, Bogotá | 2pm Rio de Janeiro). Find your timezone here.

 

 

More for funders

Groups Banner

Staff and activists of 4,900+ groups
have engaged with SMT trainings

Testimonials

SMT coaching enabled us to expand our presence within human rights spaces in Kenya beyond an LGBTIQ audience. It helped us use Twitter to connect with allies in the environmental justice and land rights movements. It was amazing to have someone to work with who knows our work and give us templates just when we needed them.
SMT helped us craft an effective public narrative for our campaign to get a mine closed. SMT helped us finalize a campaign strategy and come up with an effective plan to raise visibility and engage the public. Our campaign led to a pause in the mining. We will keep fighting!
I learnt a lot on grassroots movements, digital campaigns and communications in times of state intrusion or threats.
The program was an eye-opener and better positioned me as a Communications Officer. I learned about digital mobilizing, online community building, and more.
Our coach was an everyday reminder of what we needed to do. He checked in and followed up on us. It really helped us activate Twitter in our campaigns and tighten up digital security. We moved from just having a Twitter handle to building on a hashtag that saw a jailed human rights activist released from prison.
SMT’s training on using WhatsApp to activate our bases helped us activate more leaders by creating conversational WhatsApp groups for members and assigning different leadership roles to volunteers.
I found a lot of value in this Certificate Program that I use in my everyday work: from using social media effectively; significantly growing accounts and activating people online, pressuring targets in campaigns, and running Twitterstorms. Even when using other tools, I still apply the principles I learned!
I had an amazing time. I am already applying the valuable content in my organization.
Share

Choose a Language

This will close in 0 seconds